top of page
Search
  • lizzynerr

Songs of Hope: Before the Throne of God Above


Have you ever, during a difficult season of life, heard a song that spoke comfort to your heart in such a way that it became like a friend to you? You'd listen to it over and over, perhaps even memorizing it. Years later, after circumstances had changed, hearing the song again would bring you sweet memories of how it soothed your soul.

If any song could claim to be an old friend of mine, it's Before the Throne of God Above by Charitie Lees Bancroft. When I was eleven years old, the Lord opened my eyes and showed me my sinful heart. Of course, the purpose of the Holy Spirit's conviction was to bring me to trust in Christ for forgiveness, but even though I believed that Jesus had paid for my sins, I struggled to believe that I could truly and wholly be forgiven by God. Many songs reminded me of truth and brought me comfort during that time, but Before the Throne of God Above continues to be special to me for many reasons.

One of the reasons I love this hymn is that it reminds us not only of Christ's sacrifice for us but also of His continual intercession for His saints. Originally published with the title, The Advocate, in 1863, the hymn emphasizes the intercessory role of Christ from the beginning of the first verse: "Before the throne of God above / I have a strong and perfect plea; / a great High Priest whose name is Love, / who ever lives and pleads for me." These words echo Hebrews 4:15-16 (ESV) , "For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need."

The hymn continues to speak of our reliance on Christ in the second verse: "When Satan tempts me to despair / and tells me of the guilt within, / upward I look and see Him there / who made an end of all my sin." Something beautiful about this verse is that it doesn't ask us to deny our guilt or water it down to something more palatable, like a "mistake" or "brokenness." We have real guilt that brings real condemnation. I can speak from personal experience that it is tempting to despair over that guilt. Yet, as Romans 8:1 says, "There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus." (ESV) Because of Christ, all of our sins - past, present, and future - are covered. The work of justification is finished, and the work of sanctification is promised. He made an end to our sin before we even committed it.

The truths captured by this hymn strengthened my faith when I first became a Christian, and they have continued to strengthen me as I walk with the Lord now. Unlike the other hymns I have written about so far, Before the Throne of God Above seems more commonly sung in worship services. Because I have more frequent opportunities to sing this hymn, it feels like an old friend that has journeyed with my as I grow in my walk with the Lord. Moreover, I love singing it alongside other believers, knowing that the story of redemption is true for every one of us.


Image Credit: sasint from Pixabay (image modified)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page