top of page
Search
  • lizzynerr

A Different Kind of Resolution

As we start 2023, I've seen many people talking about New Year's resolutions. Some are having serious discussions about changing personal habits while others are humorously poking fun at the way that enthusiasm for change on January 1st quickly burns out on January 2nd.

This year I found myself without a lovely list of new commitments to challenge myself. My husband and I recently found out that we have our first baby on the way, and with first trimester symptoms, I was too tired to even stay up until midnight on New Year's Eve, let alone think of additional responsibilities to take on in the coming year. I thought to myself, "My New Year's resolutions are to stay married and have a baby." I fully expect to keep these resolutions!

This morning I found myself reflecting on this thought, and I realized that while my resolutions are different from the typical New Year's resolutions, they are nonetheless still resolutions, and important ones, too. Instead of committing to making changes, I want to commit to maintain what I have. Both change and maintenance require work. I won't oversleep one morning and forget to stay married, but staying married will require me to keep investing in my relationship with my husband. As far as our baby is concerned, for the moment I simply want to continue being pregnant! Ultimately, the life of our child is in God's hands, but there are things I can do to protect and preserve my child while I carry him (or her - we don't know yet!). I am committed to doing what I can to keep this little one alive and well.

I would encourage those who made resolutions for change to continue in the good things you've started. However, if you didn't make any resolutions, remember that maintaining the good things you have is just as important as making changes, perhaps even more so. Keep investing in your healthy habits, your relationships, and your faith. For some of us, that means going to bed before midnight in 2023!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page